This "journal" index is not one in the traditional sense. I have tried over the years to do regular journaling, to varying degrees of success. What I've found is that I can't form the regular habit, the formalization of it all. For a good while, I thought I was just built incorrectly or poorly, I would get very frustrated with myself because I would think, "other people are able to do this easily, what's wrong with me?" I would endlessly compare myself to anyone and everyone I'd ever meet, and if I didn't find someone, I would make someone up in my head and beat myself up over not being like them. The way things had been so far, I wouldn't even let myself think to myself because I felt like I was still vocalizing what I was feeling. In one part, I was afraid that by recognizing whatever I was thinking, I would be somehow be making it more real, and a lot of these thoughts were about how much I wanted to make everything worse for myself. Being trapped in a really poor mental state of health for so long makes you think that you're the only person digging your own hole, and in a way you want to continue digging. Everything you go through feels painful and all you want is an escape. You need it to stop. But of course, it feels like there's nothing much you can do in the _physical_ world to alleviate that, because the pain doesn't come from the physical world. You fight, and run, and run, and fight, and you're still hurting. So you think, "maybe they're right. Maybe it's not that they don't understand, but that I really _am_ going through basically nothing, and I'm digging my own hole by giving myself a pity-party. That's fucking disgusting, isn't it? How selfish can I be?" And the cycle of self-hatred doesn't ever stop. It's got more fuel now. This thought in your head begins to form, where you really want an escape so bad you're willing to die for it. Not out of this sense of self-aggrandizement, it's not like you're thinking you're some Hollywood Action Movie Star Who Sacrifices Himself For The Fate Of The Universe, no. It's because literally anything else would be more painful. It feels like this is the _only_ option. You get scared, realizing that if you tell anyone about this, friend or otherwise, they would do one of three things: shrug you off, panic and lock you down without providing any real help or escape, or angrily guilt you and tell you that you don't deserve to feel like this. The pressure mounts more and more, and without even realizing it, you start to make all these little symbols in your world. Not like monuments, but like graffiti in inconspicuous places. The part of you more human than anything else, that just wants to say "I was here, I existed." You put off killing yourself for various reasons, and begin to turn static. Everything stops, time no longer moves. Days pass, months pass, and you can't sleep so you watch the sun rise, sleep, wake up, watch the sun set, sleep. It's the closest you can get to feeling like you never existed in the first place. You stop eating, because the hunger helps remind you of the final day waiting around the corner. You dig your own hole. It's like you can feel the storm above your head, in your bones, and you're just waiting for it to flood and bury you. And at the very least, maybe by continuing to dig, you'll tire yourself out and die that way. It's been really unhealthy, and a recurring thought started propping up in the various writing I _would_ do over the years, while waiting to die: "Keeping things up like this without changing, it will kill me. It _will_ kill me." Sometime around January 2024, I was thinking to myself that I wish I could just have somewhere I could post or write. A place reserved specifically for letting anything go, regardless of inner convictions. Maybe if it was a wholly private space, I wouldn't be as afraid of using it. I wouldn't feel like I was opening myself up to other people, and the criticism or pain that can unfortunately come with. I put it off like I do with everything else. I then picked up Laura Jane Grace's autobiography "Tranny", in an effort to learn more about her. Friends over the years would write about her, how much she means to them. And no doubt, after learning she was a transgender punk, a part of me wanted to learn about her, since I'd wanted to exist free and wholly myself as a punk musician. Something must've clicked while reading her story, because I came back to that idea of needing a third space, and I'd realized that _was_ journaling, it _was_ offering myself my own voice. It _was_ everything I'd been denying myself for years. So I began collecting all the various things I'd been writing over the years, aggregating them together into a "journal". Entries are accurate to the date to the best of my memory's ability, if the entry itself never had dates attached to it. The only exceptions to this are a period of time near the end of 2019 and the beginning of 2020. I think that was the closest I'd come to killing myself, in a very, very long time. In a way, back then time had become so meaningless that even now it feels almost wrong to attribute dates or places to those thoughts. Everything blurred together. I'm not sure if this will stick around forever, but I'm trying my best to actually give myself the space. It's helped, as I no longer feel the need as strongly to die. It's almost like these days I know the sun still sets and rises, time passes on permanently, but that doesn't make my existence in it a meaningless blip. It's never been about that anyway. I shouldn't be focusing on something like that because it simply doesn't compare. It will always be difficult for me to not compare myself to things, but the more I actively become myself, the less harder it feels to simply exist. I can live permanently as something else, sure, but I have to justify that performance by comparison. I'll never be "one of the boys".