22 July 2023 -- Boise, ID Sometimes when reflecting inward, I get anxious about gender performance. In a way, "playing the part" of femininity is really important to my own identity, even I still have a long ways before I can get there. Sometimes I see jokey posts about gender, and I love the concept of "fuckery with gender", but ... those anxieties pop up again. I read the silly posts of "what is your gender", with their selectable poll answers containing the likes of "void, creature, to be determined" and worry to myself, "by allowing myself to find familiarity in this silly post, am I admitting that I'm ... somehow not feminine enough, even though I know that's bullshit? Shouldn't I just force myself to a non-gendered role, performing not just abstracted from gender but _denied_ from gender altogether?" In __actuality__, I'm just overthinking it! Thinking like that really _is_ bullshit! [Hey future Me if you're reading this: this is past Self speaking and I kind of love you and need you to like CHILL. You're doing fine!] There's a thought that's now dawning from somewhere within. It's about the day after the next; not the present or the dim nights already spent, but the change through many seasons from now. It's about how I can still look back to see the heads held high and the fists held higher, and _also_ walk forward at the same time. I know you're reading this later, future Self -- it's not that "reflections are mere stifling imitations", but that for us Self they are Self-made trappings. We might already be in a clearing!, but by looking behind and still seeing the forest, sure we could do as we've done before and run back inside, wrongly telling us Self that it's safer between the towering pillars from the storms overhead. But fuck that! Get into the clearing, the storms will come but the rain brings life just as well. Because ultimately, Reflection is not a process of hanging our head over a flooded riverbank's ledge, peering into a body of still and murky water. It is not a two-dimensional plane distorted by nebulous outside forces. Reflection is about how the ripples _are_ distortions -- how, to exist, we will _emanate_ because _that_ is the most human thing! The ripples don't bounce on a Surface like a binary sliding gradient from Here to There. It's about how, to exist, we distort and shape and form -- stretching from edge to edge and back overlapping, under and above, through and through. Spacetime itself is not a fabric woven by Energy to keep us warm -- "the capacity to do work" is the universal manifestation of this distortion-meta! To exist, we "do". To cease, we "null". Also! Gender being "to be determined" -- not as in the thought of "that's a later problem for me to figure out, because i am afraid..." Instead, as in the thought of "that's the thing I'm shaping for myself". Like as if saying to oneself "my gender is to be determined, no, _will_ be determined _by me_ because this is my being." Is this anything?