15 September 2023 -- Boise, ID [Well. The floodgates were broken a little bit ago, and now I just kind of feel comfortable sharing other posts in here, albeit not as often. Here's another great one from skyguided, a fellow sharing the same fedi-instance.] real talk: I've been quietly revolutionizing my life by shifting away from thinking of domestic and bodily upkeep as personal virtues and obligations, and towards concretizing them as things that make me feel better. Like to take a specific example: folding and putting away my laundry. It's something I'd been habitually not-doing for years, and honestly it's something I still don't do consistently. If I always tell myself "I should put away my laundry, leaving laundry unfolded is bad", I'm like ... never gonna do it. Demonstrably. It's a line of thinking which, for me at least, produces anxiety but no action. These days what I try to do is say "it's morally fine if I don't fold my laundry. If I _do_ fold my laundry now, it means I'll be able to spend less effort trying to find socks before work tomorrow, and I won't be annoyed at the floor space taken up by the hamper of clean clothes." Framed that way it's like cool, I can do the thing because there's obvious, positive results from doing so. And this applies to like, so many things? Dishes. Getting on the bike. Cooking more, and eating things which make me feel better. Not sleeping so late that I feel tired all day. Fuckin' flossing. It's nice.