11 December 2022 -- Boise, ID I'm well aware that at this point it's akin to beating a dead horse to keep bringing this topic up, but this is my response to this -- because I hope that there are enough kind, responsible, respectful, and considerate people here that can offer their valuable insight to this discussion. Personally, I can't stand by and use the GNU Image Manipulation Program's name on any machine I use. We've seen this play out: people have asked for alternative names, forking the project, frankly just _some_ kind of action rather than the devs digging their heels in the ground and saying "It's no use to go around sterilizing language." There's a _very_ enlightening thread that's been archived. It shows exactly this issue, and began with a kind and responsible prompt. It also showcases how a minority of extremely vocal bad-faith actors of this open source community responded, with an utterly disturbing amount of backlash and vile toxicity. I'm sure it will bring up sore memories for some here, so please read on (but please do, read on!) with caution: https://web.archive.org/web/20190705030057/https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gimp/issues/3617 The alternate name I use on my machines for this program is "OSSIE", which stands for: the Open Source Software Image Editor. Feel free to respond to this entry with: - Whatever name you think the project should use, if it's worth it to continue support of it - Whatever names you already use for it, and if not: - Alternatives to this program you would recommend supporting & using going forward If you want to respond, e-mail me.